Republicans Who Voted to Pass Biden’s Infrastructure Bill Get Bad News, May Lose Committee Posts

OPINION | This article contains opinion. This site is licensed to publish this content.

Thirteen Republicans helped Nancy Pelosi and the Democrats pass a massive spending bill.

The House of Representatives voted 228-206 to pass a $1.2 trillion infrastructure bill.

This would not have passed without the support of 13 Republicans. Six Democrats refused to support the bill.

The Wall Street Journal Editorial Board called it as “Republicans Rescue Biden’s Agenda.”

This decision might cause them to lose their committee assignments if the Republican conference’s rank-and-file get their way, Townhall reports.

Jake Sherman of NBC posted the news to Twitter:

Here are the six Democrats:

Below is a list of the thirteen Republicans.

This list includes Reps. Bacon (NE), Fitzpatrick (PA), Garbarino (NY), Gonzalez (OH), Katko (NY), Kinzinger (IL), Malliotakis (NY), McKinley (WV), Reed (NY), Smith (NJ), Upton (MI), Van Drew (NJ), and Young (AK).

More from Townhall:

Making the situation seemingly more stark, even members of the radical leftist “squad” didn’t vote for the bill, meaning thirteen Republicans voted for a Democrat bill that Reps. including AOC, Ilhan Omar, and Rashida Tlaib did not.

Of course Squad members voted no because they still feel that their voices were left out of the negotiations and that the infrastructure bill is not woke enough, but it’s still not a great look.

— Advertisement —

According to reporting from Punchbowl News, “GOP leadership is bracing” for Republican members who oppose Biden’s agenda who signaled their intent to strip committee assignments from those who voted “yes,” including ranking members.

“A number of GOP lawmakers were upset by the fact that several of their Republican colleagues voted early for the infrastructure package, helping Democrats cross the majority threshold on a key piece of President Joe Biden’s legislative agenda and undermining their party strategy,” according to Punchbowl News.